info@soyoungmagazine.com

Listen: SKATERS

Time has forced change in the SKATERS camp. The band took over the public’s ears with a fresh brand of ‘no problem’ back in 2013 and it felt like they’d always been there. Sold out shows and an impressive debut record illustrated a promising beginning to a band legacy. 2 years on, the schemers break free from a turbulent relationship with their major label and take a different approach. The New York boys have crept up on us in 2016, letting us know they’re still here, even if the parkas and baseball caps aren’t. SKATERS return this month with their biggest statement yet, ‘The Loner’. Scratchy guitars force you into an ‘albion’ comfort before a raucous onslaught which matches front man Michael Ian Cummings’ freshly shaven head. As the outro chants ‘Isolation’, you’ll feel that the band will do well to find any time to themselves this year, it’s going to be a busy one. We speak briefly to the main man, Michael, about their new hit as we make it our ‘New Music of the Week’.

Can you tell us about ‘The Loner’, who’s it about?

This song is about being a depressed pathetic barfly. We’ve all been there…Right, haven’t we?

The song takes us in a livelier direction to your previous output, Is this a sign of things to come?

I hope it’s not a sign of things to come personally but it sure has some good energy.

Talking of things to come, what can we expect from you guys next?

The upcoming full length titles Rock and Roll Bye Bye will have a tone best described by listening to the title track which will lead off the upcoming EP on Gary Powell’s label ’25 Hour Convenience Store’.

Got it? Good. Here’s ‘The Loner’.

The ‘Rock and Roll Bye Bye EP’ is released May 13th on 25 Hour Convenience Store.

SKATERS tour the UK in April with a combination of headline dates and support slots with Rat Boy.

TOUR DATES

Thursday 28 April 2016 – Hull – Fruit

Friday 29 April 2016 – Glasgow – Oran Mor (supporting Rat Boy)

Saturday 30 April 2016 – Edinburgh – Sneaky Petes

Sunday 01 May 2016 – Newcastle – O2 Academy 2 (supporting Rat Boy)

Wednesday 04 May 2016 – Norwich – Waterfront (supporting Rat Boy)

Thursday 05 May 2016 – Birmingham – Institute – Library (supporting Rat Boy)

Friday 06 May 2016 – London – Shepherds Bush Empire (supporting Rat Boy)

Saturday 07 May 2016 – Brighton – Concorde 2 (supporting Rat Boy)

Sunday 08 May 2016 – Manchester – Night & Day

Monday 09 May 2016 UK – Birmingham – The Rainbow

Tuesday 10 May 2016 UK – Liverpool – Studio 2

Wednesday 11 May 2016 – Leeds – Belgrave Music Hall

Thursday 12 May 2016 – London – Oslo

Friday 13 May 2016 – Hitchin – Club 85